The World of Nerf Gun Mods

If you had a similar childhood to mine, you might have played with Nerf Guns at some point. These foam blasters felt heavy and powerful in your hands as a kid; they also had a kind of sci-fi look and feel to them that reinforced their “coolness”. As I grew up, I have had many Nerf guns that have been lost during moves; but they always had a special place with me.

Very recently I decided to take a dive and purchase a few Nerf guns for me and my sister to play around with. After some research, I decided on the Nerf Rival Apollo rifle.

26807166141_1c8b1bae5c_b
The Mighty Nerf Rival Apollo!

After playing with them for a few days, I have seen that Nerf guns have come a long way since when I was a kid. The Nerf Rival guns fire foam balls rather than the traditional foam darts; these rounds are high impact and travel about 70mph on a stock gun.

However, with everything that I do, I went looking for upgrades and modifications for my new Nerf gun. I ended up stumbling into a whole world of Nerf gun Mods.

These modifications can range from third party parts, paint jobs, and even internal modifications to increase performance.

10277304994_8ac3d7b096_o
Photo Credit: Lonnie Dunkin III

The most prominent type of modification to Nerf guns are usually internal mods. People are able to purchase extra spring kits to improve the range and punch that of a stock gun.

Some modders have even created entire new Nerf Guns by combining multiple guns and creating custom internals. For example, one such mod fused two Nerf guns to create a modular rifle as well as adding a on-board computer to control different modes of fire.

While these modifications are quite complex and extensive, I wanted something simple that I would be able to do without breaking my new Nerf guns. That’s when I found out that Nerf Modders have created many differnet 3D printed parts for Nerf guns.

While these parts can be purchased from sites such as Etsy and Ebay, I wanted to find the digital files to 3D print myself. Like I mentioned in the past, Thingiverse.com turned out to be my best friend. I will go over a more detailed look at the mods I made in a future post but for now, I can tell you that even the most simple of 3D printed parts can add a whole new feel to a Nerf Gun.

Did you play Nerf in the past or still do? Do you Modify your own Nerf Guns? Send us a picture of your favorite Nerf gun or any mods you have done and comment down below!

Leave a comment